Big Track

Racing Returns To Can-Am Speedway Friday Night To Kick Off 2022 Season

LAFARGEVILLE, NY – After eight months of off-season, a grueling winter that just didn’t want to quit, and a reopening of the US/Canadian border, racing returns to the north country Friday night. Can-Am Speedway in La Fargeville, New York enters its 48th season with VP Racing Fuels and Lubricants presenting the opening night’s action.

A full slate of frenetic family-friendly racing is planned, with many fan-favorite teams and drivers returning to action and the introduction of a new division, Panther Frameworx, 602 Crate Sprint Cars, to round out the already adrenaline-fueled excitement.

After a two-year hiatus due to the US/Canadian border closing, Can-Am Speedway welcomes back Canadian drivers, teams and fans in 2022! Drivers returning to Can-Am from the neighborhood to the north include Ryan Arbuthnot and Jarrett Herbison in the Whitesboro Plow shop Plow Shop DIRTcar 358 Modified series as well as fan-favorite, Jessica Powers in the Bob Johnson Auto Group DIRTcar Sportsman series.

The battle for track supremacy begins Friday night as Billy Dunn returns off his 5-win season a year ago. Dunn came up just a few points short of the track championship in 2021 behind Tim Fuller, who acquired his first Whitesboro Plow Shop DIRTcar 358 Modified Championship in his career. Other notable drivers returning for the 2022 campaign are Jordan McCreadie, Jackson Gill and Ryan Bartlett, all of whom notched victories during the 2021 season.

The Bob Johnson Auto Group DIRTcar Sportsman division returns to the Nasty Track of the North with back-to-back champion, Tyler Corcoran, seeking to make it a three-peat. He’ll be joined on the track by the likes of Mike Fowler in the Sportsman division, Fowler being the only other multiple-win driver in the division in 2021.

Justin White looks to defend his crown in the FABCO DIRTcar Pro Stock division in 2022. White not only managed his first victory in the division in 2021, he took the division by storm, roaring to his first track championship. Other Pro Stock winners from 2021 returning to challenge for the track title include Burton Ward, Kevin Fetterly Jr. and Tyler Bushey. They round out an always competitive and exciting Pro Stock class, who are ready to leave it all on the track Friday night.

Tony Frezzo returns to the Marsha Gibbons TLC Real Estate, ThunderCar division in 2022, looking to repeat his dominant campaign from 2021, where he landed in victory lane 9 of the 14 races and took home the track championship.
The Donath Motor Worx Limited Sportsman division gets an infusion of fresh talent as at least four of the Can-Am Speedway Karts drivers and teams are graduating to the next level, taking their karting skills into the Limited Sportsman division. Come out Friday night to cheer on the next generation of great drivers as they get their start and become tomorrow’s champions.

Sprint Car fans rejoice! The Panther Frameworx 602 Crate Sprint Car division kicks off its 2022 season at Can-Am Speedway Friday night. With the open Canadian border, even more Sprint Cars are expected to hit the track bringing an added dimension of dirt track racing to the North Country.

Pit Gates open at 4:00pm with General Admission gates opening at 5:00pm. The drivers meeting will take place at 6:00pm sharp with Hot Laps to ensue at 6:20pm. Opening Ceremonies for the evening will kick off at 7:00pm by the lovely Miss Adirondack/Miss Thousand Islands and Heat Races will immediately follow.

DTD continues to offer an on-demand digital viewing option for fans who cannot attend the races in person throughout the 2022 racing season.

General Admission (Spectator) Pricing:

  • Adults (18+): $15
  • Students (5-17): $5
  • Under 5: Free
    – GA Gate Reminder: NO COOLERS (including food or beverage).

Pit Admission Pricing:

  • DIRTcar Members: $35 | Non Members $40
  • Under 5: $15
    – Please use the Pit Gate for all MEDIA Admissions.

Can-Am Speedway was built in 1974 by Evans Mills, NY real estate Broker Leslie W. Brown. Ownership has changed hand over the decades, with Tyler Bartlett purchasing the track in 2018. Bartlett, owner of D.P. Bartlett & Son’s Plumbing, Heating and A/C, LLC and TRB Properties has spearheaded many track improvements with a goal of continuing the great North Country racing tradition. Can-Am Speedway is a family-friendly racing facility with a regular racing program on Friday nights and Kart track racing on Saturday Nights. For more information go to, email: or call 315-876-DIRT (3478).

Can-Am Speedway is located at 21047 NYS Route 411, LaFargeville, New York 13656. Take Exit 49 (LaFargeville /Theresa) off I-81. Take NYS Route 411 west towards LaFargeville.