Billy Dunn Beats Mat Williamson In Border Battle At Can-Am Friday Night

LAFARGEVILLE, NY – It was the final Border Battle event of 2018 at the Can-Am Speedway and another solid field of Whitesboro Plow Shop-DIRTcar 358 Modifieds were signed in to make a run at the $2000 winners check and a shot at the 1000 Islands RV Centre point fund.

Heat winners Bobby Herrington and Billy Dunn brought the field of cars to the green and Pabst Shoot-Out winner, Herrington. grabbed the lead away from Dunn with 1000 Islands RV Centre point leader Ryan Arbuthnot settling into 3rd. Can-Am point leader Dunn, won the first Border Battle race at Can-Am and was looking to make it two in a row when he shot to the lead on lap 6. A number of cautions slowed the race, but on every occasion Dunn would show his dominance over the field. Arbuthnot took over the runner-up spot on lap 15 but had his hands full with outsider Mat Williamson. Dunn continued to lead but the race was for second between Arbuthnot and Williamson. Williamson took the spot away on lap 22 and took chase of Dunn. Dunn would go on for the win over Williamson, Arbuthnot, Ryan Bartlett and Danny O’Brien.

The FX Caprara Honda-DIRTcar Sportsman, sponsored by DP Bartlett and Sons saw a very strong 30 cars come to green lead by heat winners David Rogers, Jackson Gill, Jessica Power and Mike Prentice. Rogers is the current point leader and wasted no time showing the fans why, as he took the lead into turn one. There was two and three wide racing throughout the 30 car field, all looking to gain ground on Rogers and Gill. The racing behind the leader was intense. Prentice pressured Gill for the second spot while Josh Reome and Taylor Caprara battled for 4th and 5th. While Roger managed to hold the lead through all the cautions, many of the other spots were changing at the completion of every lap. Rogers would go flag to flag for the win over Gill, Caprara, Prentice and consi winner, Anthony Stockman.

Rick Dusckas and Sid Harmer Sr. brought the group of FABCO-Pro Street Stocks to the green and it was Harmer with the advantage at the completion of lap 1. Dusckas put the pressure on until lap 6 when Sid Harmer Jr. took off after his father. As it is weekly, the leaders were putting on a show at the front. Harmer Jr. came away with the lead on lap 11 but saw his chances go up in smoke on lap 13, handing the lead back to Harmer Sr. By lap 15 it was Shawn Kirby’s turn at the front and he was now chased by Ryan Shanahan. Kirby went on for the win over Shanahan, Justin White, Harmer Sr. and Mike White.

The TLC Real Estate/Agent Marsha Gibbons-Thunder Stocks were up next and as come to be expected put on one of the most competitive races of the evening. The top 5 and sometimes 6 cars battled 2 and 3 wide changing spots multiple times a lap. At the end of the 12 lap feature point leader Joe Orvis help off all challengers to pick up the win over JR Durham, Zach Petrie, Mike Greenfield and Phil Desormeau III.

The Rookie Sportsman took to the track for their feature event lead by quick timers Kevin Warren and Dustin Hutton. Warren, who has multiple wins in 2018 lead lap 1 put it was Hutton looking to add to his win list as he powered around Warren on lap 2. Hutton opened up a comfortable lead and went on for the win over Warren, Johnathan Murphy, Alexis Jacobs and Teddy Starr.

Next Friday night will be a complete show for all 5 weekly classes plus a mechanics race for all those guys and girls that put the time in to keep the cars going throughout the racing season. The Can-Am Speedway is located just off of Rt. 81 at exit 49 in LaFargeville. Follow us on Facebook at Can-Am Speedway.


9-Billy Dunn, 6-Mat Williamson, R70-Ryan Arbuthnot, 39-Ryan Bartlett, 17D-Danny O’Brien, 51-Brady Gill. 66-Kyle Dingwall, 63-Chris Herbison, 9J-Jordan McCreadie, 27W-Nick Webb, 00-Ryan Poole, M96-Jeremy LaSalle, 73-Kevin Poitras, 25-Bobby Herrington, 18w-Scott Webb, 28-Tyler Meeks, 20-Steve Bilow, 29-Tom Conklin, 57-Rylee Gill

44-Dave Rogers, 60-Jackson Gill, 21-Taylor Caprara, 72-Mike Prentice, 57-Anthony Stockman, 91-Josh Reome, 38J-Jarrett Herbison, 2-Chris Thurston, 12-Addison Bowman, 621-Brian Hudson, 34-Eric Nier, 7S-Shawn Shaw, 415-Andrew Wren, 45R-Preston Forbes, 29J-Joel Hall, 66W-Derek Webb, 81-Tyler Reynolds, 24R-Garrett Rushlow, 7-Troy Speering, 621G-Trevor Gibbons, 12S-Kyle Sharp, 10B-Jamie Brown, 16J-Aaron Jacobs, 7J-JT Speering, 52-Jessica Power, 25-George Sanford, 24-Jordan Kelly, 18E-Gavin Eisele, 41-Dalton Rombough, 1-Jack Meeks, DNS-Justin Gadbaw, 76G-Skylar Greenfield, 4X-Mike Gadbaw

3K-Shawn Kirby, 32-Ryan Shanahan, 7X-Justin White, 690-Sid Harmer Sr., 1X-Mike White, 6-Steven Gilmore, 18-Remington Marquette, 23-Terry Gardner, 3-Rick Dusckas, 14R-Sid Harmer Jr., 21-Gage Howard

7H-Joe Orvis, 02-JR Durham, TEN-Zach Petrie, 17-Mike Greenfield, 26M-Phil Desormeau III, 11J-Justin Burns, 94-OJ White, 23-Pat Sullivan, 61-Jerry Rogers DNS-Don Woodworth DSQ-Lyle Robinson

7D-Dustin Hutton, 5-Kevin Warren, 11-Johnathan Murphy, 16J-Alexis Jacobs, 16-Teddy Starr, 57J-Jason Fetterly